monkeypox: Saudi Arabia has banned new travel to 16 countries, including India

Following the re-emergence of Covid-19 and the rapid increase in the number of daily Covid infections over the past few weeks, Saudi Arabia has banned its citizens from traveling to sixteen countries, including India.

Sixteen countries other than India are banned from traveling by Saudi Arabia: Lebanon, Syria, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Yemen, Somalia, Ethiopia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Libya, Indonesia, Vietnam, Armenia, Belarus, and Venice.

Further, the Saudi Ministry of Health has assured the public that zero monkeypox cases have been detected in the country. Abdullah Asiri, the deputy minister for preventive health, said the kingdom had the power to monitor and detect any suspected monkeypox cases and to fight infection if any new cases emerged.

“Until now, the incidence of human-to-human transmission has been very limited, and therefore the risk of any outbreak is very low, even in countries where cases have been identified,” he added.

Meanwhile, the World Health Organization (WHO) has confirmed 80 cases of monkeypox in 11 countries and said it was working to better understand the extent and cause of the outbreak.

In a statement issued Friday, the WHO said the virus was endemic to some animal populations in several countries, leading to occasional outbreaks among local people and travelers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.